First bass No.6 – Reflections on an Icon

I’d often been told that I bore a passing resemblance to Phil Lynott, bassist and singer with Thin Lizzy, and when Simon, our drummer in Tubeless Hearts suggested that I audition for Stars in their Eyes as him, it seemed like the natural thing to do. I’d met Phil very briefly back when Lizzy had their first twin-guitar album, Nightlife out and were touring the UK in support of it. As a starry-eyed kid, I was amazed to come face-to-face with him in the refectory at Derby college, prior to their gig!  I’d always loved the music, and wanted to honour his memory.  To that end, I bought  a Fender Squier bass and had it “Lizzied-up” , with the famous mirror scratchplate that he memorably employed after supporting Slade and seeing how the lights played off the mirrors on Noddy Holder’s top hat.

It became a favourite for a while, as evidenced by these photos, onstage with Graham Oliver performing Saxon’s greatest for charity event:

Kev Moore and Graham Oliver

….and at a festival in Germany with Christie:

Kev Moore with Christie

But, inevitably, it went the way of many others, however, this time to a good home. My good friend and producer Clyde Ward, a fellow Lizzy fan, bought it off me while we were working together  writing and recording material for my daughter Hollie. It took pride of place on the studio wall!

Kev Hollie and Clyde

Kev, Hollie and Clyde in Mojacar around 10 years ago

Kev Moore

12 Responses to “First bass No.6 – Reflections on an Icon”

  1. Rockin dave Says:

    “loosing weight sir” :D

  2. supersizeme Says:

    Aaye… I agree you do look so much like him.. minus the full on afro of course! I suppose if you tried a little backcombing, no?

    Loving the bass guitar, looks very shiny and bling!

    Thats really sweet that you met him like that! How lucky are you?

  3. Supe, if I try backcombing, I look like the Amazon rainforest BEFORE deforestation took place!

  4. Diamond, that was the “loosing-est” I ever got!

  5. davvid rucklidge Says:

    Hi Kev, read my response to your contribution to the FORGOTTEN CHILDREN S BOOKS the one called “the secret of pedlar s piece”
    I would be interested to know your early influences for example Bert Ruiter of FOCUS 1972
    Best wishes

  6. Hi davvid – you’re going to have to point me back to that one!

  7. STOP PRESS: Ive just discovered that the gig where I met Phil and saw Lizzy for the first time has now been released as a live album! Their version of Cowboy Song, which was yet to be recorded- was retitled “Derby Blues” for the night!

  8. david rucklidge Says:

    Hi Kev Sorry to submit items not really related to music but i do play the druma ; the 1972 albums FOCUS 3 Pierre Van Der Linden (drums) and Burt Ruiter (bass) & the album
    Yessongs 1972_ i have an analogue master double cd from 1990 which sound a lot better to me than the new digitaaly remastered copies- I wonder if you agree in general terms regarding these older recordings
    There is at the present time a copy of THE SECRET OF PEDLAR S PIECE for sale on ebay 1964 original just like the one i have bought setember1964!
    The author is ROBERT RADFORD STEVENS
    Peal Press 5 Fitzhardinge Street LONDON-long since defunct ; but the story is still convincing and relevant even today- about a scientist being held in a country derelict mansion and being forced to develop missile interception technology
    Best Wishes David Rucklidge Doncaster South Yorks

  9. Hi David, thanks for the heads up about Pedlars Piece on Ebay, I’ll have to check that one out. And thanks for the author’s name, I never could remember it. I agree with you, a great story from an interesting time. As an aside, I’ve just read Code to Zero by Ken Follett, which is a great novel about the space race/cold war era, set around 1958. Incidentally, regarding Focus, I have a dutch friend who made a couple of albums with Thijs van Leer. The debate about analogue and digital is an enduring one, I had wonderful vinyl copies of Led Zep 2, and an astonishingly good cut of Rosie Vela’s Zazu (produced by Gary Katz with Becker and Fagen). When I got the Cds of both, they didnt really measure up. I think people blindly accepted CDs would be better, and they weren’t always. Its the reason Bowie denied permission to release his catalogue on CD until he found a compnay willing to do it properly, and why Jimmy Page remastered all the Zep stuff. Some of the early Zep CDs weren’t even taken from the masters!

  10. where did you get all of the cool phil like clothes

    • When I appeared on Stars in their Eyes as Phil, Granada TV took me out shopping in London for all the leather gear which was cool, even having some boots tailor made for me. I also had a red jacket made in Wakefield exactly like the ones Phil and Gary Moore used in “Out in the Fields”.

  11. david rucklidge Says:

    Hi Kev Hope you’re well ; i hope you managed to obtain a copy of The Secret of Pedlar’s Piece.
    I meant to add in the above that surely the best person to play Fleming would have been (or hopefully still is) Arnold Schwartzenegger.
    All the best !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

