A Poem to Close the Miles

Kev and MikiI’m away from home just now, down in Almeria with my son. It is bittersweet; wonderful to see him, yet so hard to be apart from Miki, my partner and muse. Yet “partner” doesn’t really say it. There is a colloquialism in English, “My other half”. In our case, Miki really is the other half of my soul, and we’re pulled apart, it hurts.

I found a poem in my flat down here that I wrote to her when we were apart around a year ago. I think it’s still relevant, perhaps even more so; and at the risk of sounding like a hopeless romantic, here it is, for all of you together, but apart.

It’s late now, twenty-five past two, and how I wish I was with you

Left pondering a night alone, a house perhaps, but not a home

Without you here, its soul is gone, it’s not a place to live as one

A solitary in the night, it’s difficult to not take flight

To take the highway back to you, for better than the one, is two

The fan above that shapes a breeze, is deaf to my unanswered pleas

That, with the early morning light, I’ll wake to find you by my side

And so I soldier on until, I make the journey mile by mile

And turn the corner up the hill, and bathe again in your sweet smile.

Kev Moore

3 Responses to “A Poem to Close the Miles”

  1. So touching to find this entry, Kevin! Yes, it is hart to be apart, as I wrote somewhere else:
    “I just miss Kevin and don´t feel human any more! This is the problem when one loves too much… one doesn´t exist anymore when one is apart!”
    By the way: you are not a hopeless romantic.
    Romantic, yes, and this is wonderful!
    Hopeless, not, because all our hopes become true…

    Ta seconde moitié
    Miki

  2. An old Jewish aphorism states that one is merely half a person until one finds the missing part to complete them each. I am happy that the two of you have that kind of relationship. Blessings!

  3. Thanks for your kind words Soylent!

Leave a Reply

