The Leaving

The Leaving

It’s done.
Less  years ahead alone
Than behind together
Safely clear of storms
No more heavy weather

He  stands in silence
Facing the tree his Father planted
His roots, too, are deep
Always doing what his Father wanted

Him. Resolute. Immovable.
No apologies to send me on my way
No remorse or comforting words
To lighten my load this day

He is not wrong.
He never is
Ten years to the day
Since our last kiss
Which now hangs bitter
On my lips
Like rotten fruit upon the bough
Of  that damned tree
The tree that seems to outlast me, now.

My Ears don’t lie
I hear her
The rustle of her robes
As from the house she flies
Oh daughter! Do not make me turn around
I cannot bear this awful sound
Her wailing,
Kept in time by hurried footsteps on the ground

“Mother please! Return!” Her plaintive cry…
“Do not despair, for true love never dies!”
Oh,  the innocence of youth!
For true love never touched on him
Nor I.

Words: Copyright Kev Moore 20/01/08 Art: Copyright Miki 20/01/08

One Response to “The Leaving”

  1. I love this! Evokes so many emotions…loneliness, bitterness, sadness, then a sort of calm, angry-free acceptance. I’m no expert at poetry by any means, and I haven’t really read enough to know what I’m talking about, but this flows so nicely, and it’s not too overbearing. Leaves the reader curious, in a good way.

Leave a Reply

