Rock Banned

 Kev on stage

It’s that time again. Time to let off steam.  In the post-halcyon days of live music, it’s becoming increasingly difficult to find places to play. I’m beginning to feel that in our quest for gigs, we are giving ground, little by little, so that eventually we will cease to be a force to be reckoned with. The majority of our shows are now in the UK, which is something I don’t particularly enjoy, and the greater part of those are for a chain  of resorts that cater to the “older client” . Whilst we get a lot of fans coming along to these shows, they are also populated by senior citizens, whose moaning genes have been seriously activated. They sit there with their fingers in their ears, pulling stupid bloody faces, then they get up and walk out. What exactly is it about BC SWEET-Glam rock from the 70’s that they think they will like? Why do they come here? It’s not a Mantovani weekend, so why do they even sit in here to listen?  They could just go and play bowls or something. Or sleep.

Of course, the irony is, these 70-somethings were only around 30 when the songs were hits, 19 years younger than I am, and I’m playing the stuff!! What is it that makes people forget their youth and turn into miserable old gits?  I would like to be shot before that happens please.

Plus, I fear the band is taking decisions that diminish our stature, like sometimes agreeing to perform 2 sets. It reduces us to some kind of cabaret, and I just don’t want that. If they don’t want to book us, fine, but I havent worked all these years to be used as wallpaper for the evening. We do an hour show plus encores, that what we do, take it, or leave it. We are loud. It is rock. Take it or leave it.

Of course we may be banned for taking a stand, but If I cant do it properly, then I’d rather not do it at all.

Kev Moore

6 Responses to “Rock Banned”

  1. Hi Kev,

    I was wondering about two things–have you ever played in America, and ifs so, what did you think about it? If not, why not do a tour?

    Also, thinking about those who are age 70, that is just the age of our parents who were complaining about Rock and Roll in the 1960’s. I’ve noticed that people tend to like the kind of music they grew up with. Right now, I’m seeing people in their 40’s through 60’s liking rock and Roll, but few under 30 like it, and few over 65. Interestingly, my 14-year-old daughter tells me that Rock and Roll is starting to become popular with her age group!

    Previously, during the past few years, I’ve found my maids in their 20’s telling me, when I’ve played Rock and Roll for them, that it sounds so “old-fashioned!” Can you imagine??? Personally, I can’t stand Rap music and Hip-Hop, but now I take satisfaction in that when those who like it get to be 50 and up, surely there will be some new kind of music that will drive them just as crazy as I feel about having to listen to Hip-Hop.

    Madame Monet

  2. Hi Madame Monet, I’ve been lucky enough to tour America, the largest tour was in 1998, when I travelled there as part of a punk rock group called The Gonads! We had a new album and single out and the tour was put together to support it. We played New Jersey, New York, New Hampshire, and Boston on the East Coast and San Francisco, Long Beach and L.A. on the West Coast. I loved every minute of it! I’ve also made appearances in Dallas Texas, Orlando Florida ,and given a Music lecture to students in Boston! I have a great affinity for the States. I think they have a greater respect for the music than in the UK. You can actually hear good music on the radio in America, whereas the playlisting in the UK is bordering on the fascist. One of my ambitions, to play the legendary CBGBs club (now sadly gone) was fulfilled on the ’98 tour.
    Of course, I would love to go again, but the logistics are daunting. You need the considerable financial backing of a Promoter to get a band over there, and ideally, an album out at the same time. When my old band Tubeless Hearts, released our CD, we tried to get over to the States to promote it, as we were getting airplay on the West Coast stations, but we were refused work permits. This I found profoundly disappointing, particularly when we had entertained 1,000’s of U.S. Servicemen over the years on U.S. Bases in Britain. No “Special relationship” in that regard!
    But I have hopes of perhaps an appearance on a multi-band bill, maybe on the West Coast with BC Sweet, as the orginal line -up was a massive influence on a great swathe of glam-metal bands that came out of that area in the 1980’s.
    Regarding “ageism” and appreciating music. My friend Keith Webb, who died last year aged 73, was the drummer with Donovan, Terry Reid and the Prog Rock band Paladin, before playing with a young Stevie Ray Vaughn. He toured all across the States with the Stones, Cream, Jethro Tull and Ten Years after. He was the same age as my father. Bill Wyman, original bassist with The Stones, must be 70 now. So I don’t hold with the theory that “it’s not their music”. I just think some people, as they grow older, are more miserable than others, or simply, don’t love music for itself. They just want an inoffensive sound in the background. I cannot listen to music half-heartedly. My era, the music I grew up with, was the early 70’s. Bowie, Slade, T.Rex, Alice Cooper, Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin. I still dont believe there have been many artists since to touch them, but I listen to new music all the time, and enjoy it. Rap and Hip Hop, thats a different thing. I hate it, but I hate it like I hated the simpering disco of the 70’s. Its not because its new, its because its bad. If I could have taken a contract out on the Stylistics, I would have! I must clarify its not black music that I hate, its just certain genres, disco, hip hop, rap, some new R and B..but I love Funk and Funk Rock, like James Brown, Johnny Guitar Watson, Living Colour, Mothers Finest etc. But I have to try and take a step back. Music is my life, its important. If a gardening fanatic raved about a certain flower or hedge, I’d be “well, a garden is a garden” it wouldnt impact on me at all, and I guess, sadly, for some people, music is like that for them.

  3. I’m glad you had a chance to tour America. I’m just curious, how do you find fans/the audience compare from country-to-country? For example, what are the differences between American and British audiences? What are the differences between British and Spanish, French, or German audiences?

    Also, would it be possible for you to add an RSS Feed to this blog in the sidebar, so that I can follow it more easily? (I recommend adding in the Meta Widget so people can sign up both for your blog entries, and your comments.)

    Best regards,
    Madame Monet

  4. MM, I’ll consult my technical director (Miki!!) and sort it out with the RSS feed. In the meantime your great question about the disparity of audiences worldwide is worthy of another post! I’ll get right on it…

  5. anangeli Says:

    I think the equipment of older people –their bones– does not work well, as with your older guitars and such. Their spirit takes them to listen but their bones do not move. It happens to me… There is no physial energy although teh brain is buzzing with activity. I guess they must ne recreating and living their youth and their best rock”n roll moments in their minds and you are “instrumental” in this, no pun intended… My lifestyle –after some years when it wasn’tthe–has been sedentary so I can give faith to what I say; I may want to go out and party but I am rusty and used to do certain things at certain times. That is getting older! I know… The other day my brother made fun of me because I did not want to drive becausr it was raining heavily (and the road could not be seen, very important). In my youth I would be gone before anyone said “go”. My brother is one year younger than I.

  6. Regarding your reticence to drive when the road was not visible Yolanda, i should rather put that down to your older wisdom, and your brother’s insistence that you were silly not to do so, to the impetuosity of his youth!! 🙂
    …seriously, though, i believe you have a point about the spirit being willing and the flesh weak. i know, when that day comes for me, i will be a nightmare to live with, a frustrated rocker, seething in his bathchair! God help poor Miki, we can only hope she’s gone senile by then and won’t realise what a pain in the ass i will have become! haha!

Leave a Reply

